Gardening

The weekend is over and its a work day once more. She’s fully rested and eating a bowl of cereal when the car pool arrives.

Screenshot-28

While at work she assists her boss with his experiments, hoping not only to improve their relationship but to also gain a raise. At the end of the day she realizes the only way she’ll achieve the raise is through hard work outside of her office, and that means improving her gardening skill. She notices a small garden outside but she can only harvest here and while that gives her a few fruits to start with it doesn’t improve her skill any.

Screenshot-30

She goes home and forgets about her gardening goal. She realizes her house has become a bit unpleasant in appearance and chooses to clean instead.

Screenshot-32edit

Afterwards though she takes her fruits to the backyard and begins planting.

Screenshot-34

Screenshot-36

Screenshot-38

She’s spent the rest of the evening gardening and though she’s gotten closer to her goal she’s not yet achieved it. She’s now hungry, stinky, and sleepy so takes care of her needs and then goes to bed hoping close is close enough.

Screenshot-41

10 Responses to “Gardening”


  1. 1 Samantha August 2, 2009 at 3:42 am

    I’m trying to create a 2nd story, don’t worry Mitsy’s story will continue and will continue to be posted daily. I’m really looking forward to writing this story but I can’t seem to create/find the perfect house for it. I need an 8 sim house under 29,000 simoleons. Anyone think they are able to accept the challenge to create it for me?

    Please help, click here for more details

    • 2 kansine August 2, 2009 at 5:41 am

      I could try, but it’s really difficult to create a so big house under 29,000 simoleons… I’ve sometimes tried to make much smaller houses under 20.000 simoleons, and even that has been so diffivult that I finally had to leave the walls unpainted XD Maybe u should lower yourself to use a money cheat to begin with? 😉 Anyway, how should the house look otherwise?

      And the main thing: this was one more great entry! You have a wonderful skill to make a sims normal (or not always so normal XD) everyday life totally interesting! Btw, you can learn gardening also from books, but I guess you know that, and it’s much more interesting for the story when she’s actually doing gardening 🙂

      • 3 Mosim August 4, 2009 at 5:42 pm

        I found that you can plant the fruits & vegetables you buy at the store *as is* (i.e. a whole fruit) and it will grow as well.

    • 4 kansine August 2, 2009 at 7:04 am

      Samantha, I’ll try to make that house today, but because it needs to be so cheap, is it ok that there are hardly no furniture, only the necessarities?

      • 5 Samantha August 2, 2009 at 1:47 pm

        yeah I’ll add that to the info page. I know its difficult….and I don’t want to but I might have to lower myself to that money cheat like you said but I at least need to be able to get them into the house to start with.

  2. 6 Kayla August 2, 2009 at 10:28 am

    I could try lol that seems like it would be hard though, I’ll try throughout the day then if I can.

    This story is great 🙂
    Has she got promoted yet???

    And I also added some more to my blog and I might add some more today, it turns out that I probably don’t have to leave today, I’m leaving tomorrow instead. So hopefully you’ll check it out.

    And with the time that I have today, I’ll try to build the house unless kansine builds it.

    Good Blog! 🙂

    • 7 Samantha August 2, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      she hasn’t gotten promoted yet, thats why she’s gardening…trying to improve her work so she can get a raise or a promotion, problem is she keeps missing days.

  3. 8 Kansine August 2, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Now I have made a house with 8 bedrooms (quite big ones, most of them), and it should be cheap enough 😀 But I had to forget about almost all furniture in order to make it that cheap – it has only the necessarity kitchen- & bathroom stuff, plus the beds – it doesn’t even have lamps XD But it HAS wall papers and floors – CHEERS, LUXURY!!! (LOL). The yard is also terribly empty of plants and the design of the house might be a little odd, ’cause usually that big houses have many floors, but it was cheaper to only make it on one floor 😀 Of course you don’t have to like the house XD Here’s the link, anyway (hopefully it works):

    http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail.html?assetId=813310

  4. 9 celara August 3, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    I think that’s a cool challenge and I’m going to have to try it. I love the fact that Mitsy is trying out gardening, and I love the fact that her plantings are kind of scattered about (Krystal always seems to plant in nice neat little rows). 😛

    I’m glad that if you start your second story that you don’t plan to abandon your first. I will most assuredly check out the new one once it starts. 🙂

    • 10 Samantha August 3, 2009 at 11:54 pm

      The plants aren’t actually scattered about, I can’t do the neat little rows…whenever my sims start a garden it seems to be all over the place but actually these plants are quite organized. Around the large tree (that was there when she moved in) its a circle of apple trees and grape vines, and they alternate (apple grape apple grape). Then then the plants not surrounding the tree are grape vines surrounding an apple tree. Her two vegetable plants are next to the house since they didn’t fit the pattern, lol.

      As for the story I’m still debating whether or not to do it. I’ve sort of cancelled the idea for now because it involves eight sims and when I started it out I couldn’t keep up enough to get a story started. While the idea is a fun one I’m worried it might take away from this one and I’ll probably have enough of a difficult time keeping up after school starts.


Leave a Reply

